MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES SOUTHERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITY SEPTEMBER 24 AND 25, 2019

Pursuant to notice, a special meeting of the Board of Trustees of Southern Illinois University convened at 8:35 a. m., Tuesday, September 24, 2019, at the St. Louis Airport Hilton, Discovery Room, 10330 Natural Bridge Road, St. Louis, Missouri. The meeting was called to order by Chair J. Phil Gilbert. The following members of the Board were physically present:

Hon. J. Phil Gilbert, Chair

Dr. Ed Hightower, Vice Chair

Mr. Roger Tedrick, Secretary

Mr. Ed Curtis

Mr. Brione Lockett – via teleconference for portions of the meeting

Ms. Mackenzie Rogers

Dr. Subhash Sharma

Mr John Simmons

The following member of the Board was absent:

Ms. Amy Sholar

Also present for the duration of the meeting were Mr. Luke Crater, General Counsel; and Ms. Misty Whittington, Executive Secretary of the Board. Mr. Dennis Barden, WittKieffer consultant, also attended the meeting.

The Executive Secretary reported and the Chair determined that a quorum was physically present.

At 8:36 a.m., Trustee Rogers moved that the Board go into closed session for the purpose of considering information regarding appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance or dismissal of specific employees of the public

2

body. The relevant section of the Open Meetings Act Statute that allows for the closed session is 5 ILCS 120/2(c) (1). The motion was duly seconded by Trustee Simmons. The motion carried by the following recorded vote: aye, Mr. Ed Curtis, Hon. J. Phil Gilbert, Dr. Ed Hightower, Ms. Mackenzie Rogers, Dr. Subhash Sharma, Mr. John Simmons, Mr. Roger Tedrick; nay, none.

At 5:00 p.m. Trustee Sharma made a motion that the meeting adjourn to meet on September 25, 2019, at 8:00 a.m. in the same location. The motion was duly seconded by Trustee Rogers. The motion passed unanimously via voice vote.

On September 25, 2019, at 8:24 a.m., the Board resumed the executive session.

The following members of the Board were physically present:

Hon. J. Phil Gilbert, Chair

Mr. Roger Tedrick, Secretary

Mr. Ed Curtis

Mr. Brione Lockett – via teleconference

Ms. Mackenzie Rogers

Dr. Subhash Sharma

Mr. John Simmons

The following members of the Board were absent:

Dr. Ed Hightower, Vice Chair

Ms. Amy Sholar

Trustee Sharma made a motion to allow Trustee Lockett to join the meeting via teleconference. The motion was duly seconded by Trustee Rogers and was passed unanimously via voice vote.

The meeting resumed in open session.

3

Trustee Tedrick moved that the meeting be adjourned. The motion was duly seconded by Trustee Simmons. The motion to adjourn passed unanimously by voice vote.

The meeting adjourned at 1:10 p.m.

Roger Tedrick, Secretary